What Kind Of Horse are You?

1 May

DSC08417

After reading a blogger refer to herself as a sturdy little quarter horse, I became aware that I am probably a neurotic OTTB.  That’s off-the track Throroughbred.  If you’ve never met a Thoroughbred (race horse), many of them tend to be a little hyper.  They stew a lot about the meaning of horse life.

So what kind of horse are you?

Draft horse:  Goes about business without sweating the small stuff.  Sturdy and can sleep standing up.  Can carry a heavy load without breaking down.  Needs grazing muzzle.

Pony:  Busy thinking, calculating and possibly talking.  Superior intellect and knows it. Small and sturdy without many problems but may need  grazing muzzle.  Not afraid to take on the big players.  May also work for NASA in space program.

Miniature horse:  no concept of own size and inflated sense of self.  Thinks world revolves around themselves.  This may or may not be true.  Napoleon was a miniature horse.

Appaloosa: always right and knows it.  However, will work for a boss who makes logical sense and pays fair.  Strong sense of self.

Quarter horse: sturdy, calm, minds own business and doesn’t worry about other horse’s problems.  Goes own way and likes to push cows around.  Doesn’t get involved in horse drama.

Arab:  Worries about other horse’s problems.  Worries about the wind.  Worries about rocks.  Worries about having a blue feed bucket.  Generally sensitive, caring and likes to have a job and be useful.  Learns fast.

American Saddlebred:  fancy stepper with a lot of show.  May be insecure behind the beautiful exterior, but no one can tell.

Mixed breed: any combination of these and any other characteristics.

18 Responses to “What Kind Of Horse are You?”

  1. Zen Doe May 1, 2013 at 5:32 am #

    HAHAHA! Love the one about the Arabs! I’d have to be an appaloosa.

  2. thecasualphilosopher May 1, 2013 at 6:06 am #

    I must be a cross between and OTTB and an Arabian. Plus I do ride an Arabian, and why is it I feel I “understand” him?! Though I’m less impressed with rocks, hoses, and clumps of dirt!

  3. Marietta May 1, 2013 at 8:25 am #

    I think I’m a cross between a pony and appaloosa… but you know me, what do you think?

    • A New Path May 1, 2013 at 9:16 am #

      I’d guess Appaloosa with a dash of pony! I would love to be a draft cross and be able to sleep standing up.

  4. Jillaroo Jess May 1, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    Pony may need grazing muzzle.. That’s me!! Lol!!

    • A New Path May 9, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

      I need one of those sometimes, too.

  5. Sparrowgrass May 4, 2013 at 8:53 am #

    I’m 3/4 arab, 1/4 appaloosa, married to a pony. My mixed breed horse is mostly draft and pony. Both in features and character!

    • A New Path May 9, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

      a pony and draft is a good combo! I’ll bet a grazing muzzle is needed!

      • Sparrowgrass May 10, 2013 at 5:15 am #

        Surprisingly not. He’s on enormous feeds and still only gaining weight very slowly (he was skinny when I got him). He’s got a real fondness for his food, but doesn’t gain much weight from it – isn’t that what we’d all like to be like!?

  6. thecraftycultivator May 5, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

    I’m a Quarter Horse for sure!
    But maybe a QH who thinks she is a warmblood?

    • A New Path May 9, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

      LOL I have to add more horses to list like warmblood.

  7. hensandhippology May 12, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

    Half-Arabian/pony.

  8. Golden Spike Farm May 15, 2013 at 10:09 am #

    Half Appaloosa and Half QH

  9. asiapasek May 28, 2013 at 11:50 am #

    I like it! to me it’s very easy. Me and my old Basia (a małopolsky mare) we are just the same, we even are getting gray on the same side.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What Kind Of Horse are You? | Golden Spike Farm's Plog - May 15, 2013

    […] What Kind Of Horse are You?. […]

What do you think?