Be the Change

25 Jan

DCP_6966

The surest way to clear a room is to talk religion or politics.  Another good one is gun control.  Opinions make people uncomfortable.  Faced with someone very different from yourself, how do you respond?  Can you take it or do you leave the room?  Do you say something inflammatory within their earshot or now, social-media shot?

What are our opinions?  Do they define us?  Are they a solid item useful for bludgeoning  others who don’t share them?  Is an opinion a part of your home decor, like a lamp or table?  Can you give it away once it’s no longer useful?

How much discomfort is caused by a difference of opinion?  A lot.  A difference of religious opinion can either set someone squirming or cause them to start a war.  I think we are the only species who is so attached to our definitions and opinions that we are willing to kill for them.  We cease to listen.

So here’s a challenge.  Can you stay present with someone spouting a different opinion?  If you did, what would happen?  Would the opinion dissipate into thin air as the vibrations of words ceased?

In most cases, yes.  If it’s a true injustice, think Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Rosa Parks.  Think new ways.  Because if we don’t, who will?  Speak up from a place that doesn’t throw flames back, but comes from the fire of your soul.  Don’t be afraid to speak your opinion.  Don’t keep quiet.  Is there a paradox here?  Not really, if you think about it.  Can I do this?  Well, sometimes.  I’m working on it.

“Be the change you wish to see in the world” — Mahatma Gandhi  (He got results)

8 Responses to “Be the Change”

  1. Biocadence January 25, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

    Ah, I’m glad I found this. The right timing for me, in my life. I have practiced quieting quite a bit in the last few years. Saying nothing makes me feel like I deceived another and myself. And, yes, there must be another option, as leaders have shown us. I like your list:), and will add a few I like to pull strength from: Nelson Mandela, and Maya Angelou. Practicing compassion means seeking to understand another’s opinion… understand the foundation they stand on to form that opinion… understand the experience that may have led them to build that foundation. With that intention, I try to remember that an interaction escalated by differing opinions, likely means I have many questions to ask. I’ll quote you: “Can I do this? Well sometimes. I’m working on it.”:)

    Thanks for your musings. I’ll be back for more in future days!

    • A New Path January 25, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

      Yes, Nelson Mandela and Maya Angelou are great examples. Thank you for bringing them up. Thank you for reading, and I love your comments. Expressing our own strong, compassionate voices takes courage and inner work.

      • Biocadence January 25, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

        Amen, it does;)! Constant… oh boy, I’m never done. And that struggle is precisely what opens access to sight.

        So nice to meet you!

        ~Annie

      • A New Path January 25, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

        Thank you, nice to meet you, too! – Monica

  2. Shannon February 3, 2013 at 3:54 pm #

    Does Pooh Bear on Katie’s head mean that Katie doesn’t take pooh from anyone? 😉

    • A New Path February 3, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

      That is actually Katie’s pasturemate Macho, and he doesn’t take any from anyone. (His name is Macho, after all!)

      • Shannon February 3, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

        That’s awesome! Love the name! What cute babies you have!

  3. A New Path February 3, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    thank you, Shannon! Katie and Macho thank you, too.

What do you think?

