Why Is My Lettuce in a Cage?

18 Apr

DSC08251

That  was the first thing I had to ask upon coming home and finding my lettuce starts inside a pet carrier on the picnic table.

On closer inspection, I saw the decimated plants were mere shadows of their lush, leafy selves.  I had left them peacefully basking on the deck rail in black plastic containers.

Now they were tattered bits of leaf.

“The chickens were eating it.  So we put it in the cage,” my daughter informed me.

“Well, thank you. Couldn’t you have set it in the garden inside the fence?”

“Oh.”

So that’s how my lettuce ended up in a cage.  The lettuce is fine and has been transplanted.  No plants were permanently harmed in the making of this blog post.

6 Responses to “Why Is My Lettuce in a Cage?”

  1. thecasualphilosopher April 19, 2013 at 6:18 am #

    They look as pitiful as the pothos plant I just put outside….. one of .the last vestiges of greenery in the house……

  2. Zen Doe April 19, 2013 at 7:35 am #

    Actually, that’s a fantastic idea to put seedlings in a big dog cage! I may just do that! I’m sorry about your poor plants. 😦

    • A New Path April 19, 2013 at 9:07 am #

      It is a debate whether to put the chickens or the plants in a cage! They will make a comeback I am sure. We planted them in the garden, which has a chicken-proof fence.

  3. subsistencesuburb April 19, 2013 at 7:52 am #

    I just got three hens this spring, looks like my gardens won’t be doing well huh?

    • A New Path April 19, 2013 at 9:12 am #

      A fence or cage does wonders for protecting the garden. We fenced in the garden and let the hens range. Or you can contain the chickens in a fence.

  4. Marietta April 19, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

    LOL! Your poor lettuce.

What do you think?

