Horse Drama

23 May

DSC08477

The vast majority of the horse world is occupied by drama.  Often you don’t just buy  a horse, you buy a horse drama.  And it’s hard to not buy one.  It comes free with the horse whether you want it or not.  Sort of like an extended warranty.

When you go to buy a horse, the trouble begins.  If the horse is so great, why are they selling him/her?   Common answers include:  “no time” (to get bucked off),  “need to downsize” (got bucked off), “horse too small”  (bucked kids off), “injury prevents riding” (got bucked off and broke shoulder), “too many horses” (this one bucks so I’m selling it and keeping the others) “daughter lost interest” (because horse bucked her off).

If you do like the horse, suddenly the price goes up.  Or a million other strange things happen that make being abducted by aliens seem ordinary in comparison.  If you enjoy shopping too much, try to buy a horse.  Soon you will never want to shop again.  Even for groceries.  So you should stock your pantry well before attempting this exercise, so you don’t starve.

After I bought the raffle ticket for $1 to win a draft horse at the fair, I broke out in a cold sweat.  What if I won?  What would I DO with the draft horse?  Where would I put a draft horse?  Thankfully I did not win a draft horse.

Unlike Katie herself,  Katie’s purchase was without drama.  And she is small, so unlike a draft horse, I have a place to keep her.  She was one of the simplest horse purchases I ever made.  She is a zen horse- she keeps me honest.  And humble, by humiliating me at shows.  So I never get too full of myself.  She keeps me in “beginner mind”– the place where magic happens, and I am grateful for that.  It is much better than drama land.

8 Responses to “Horse Drama”

  1. Zen Doe May 23, 2013 at 5:53 am #

    You had me in hysterics! This was so funny and SO true!! And if you don’t get enough drama trying to buy a horse, just wait until you get it home and introduce him/her to the other one(s). The drama fun never ends with horses. You’re very lucky to have Katie!!

    • thecasualrider May 23, 2013 at 6:13 am #

      A much needed laugh, and a beautiful you and katie. Loved your entry.

      • A New Path May 23, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

        thank you, both!!! 🙂

    • A New Path May 23, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

      thank you! Oh, yes the drama when they come home LOL Especially if mares are involved. And thank you for appreciating Katie!

      • Marietta May 23, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

        I was laughing all the way. Great post!

      • A New Path May 23, 2013 at 11:07 pm #

        Thank you! 🙂

  2. tbnranch May 24, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    ha ha! Great post! 🙂

What do you think?

