Equidae

27 Jun

DSC01063

golden light with endless shine
the world’s colors intertwined
a longing spreads from distant lands
moving now beneath my hands

I cannot catch this fleeting thing
that grabs my soul and makes it sing
it travels with me where I go
and haunts me how I cannot know

When others left their past behind
mine travelled with me in my mind
I turn my head and hear the sound
of thundering hoofbeats ‘cross the ground

I grab a mane and hold on tight
riding wildly through the night
pausing now atop a hill
the world around me silent and still

and in the morning light I see
there is a horse here now with me
he is old and so am I
but on the wind we still can fly

This material is copyright and not to be reproduced without permission of the author.

4 Responses to “Equidae”

  1. The Dancing Rider June 27, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

    Beautiful. And true.

  2. A New Path June 27, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

    Thank you.

  3. Erin Hansen Carter June 28, 2013 at 12:16 am #

    Amazing!

What do you think?

