Ownership a.k.a. So You Want a Farm?

27 Jun

DSC08888

Everything you own also owns you.  When I was young and poor, this made sense.  It also kept envy at bay.  I was proud of my garage-sale table- it came traffic cone orange and took three coats of brown paint to tone it down.   It was one of my few pieces of furniture.

With ownership comes responsibilities.  Everything inanimate needs dusting, maintenance and to be moved around.  Everything alive needs to be fed, cleaned up after and cared for.

Let’s take a farm for example.  Those cute children’s books don’t show all the poop that farm animals produce.  Or the overgrown grass that results if you attempt to leave your property for a few hours during growing season.  Soon the farm you bought owns you.  For better or worse.  In sickness and in health.  104 fever?  No problem- go feed the animals- they’re waiting.  They don’t have a fever.

Like so many girls, I dreamed of my own farm.  But I should have known better.  I grew up on a farm.  So I knew.  But my farm was going to be different.  In my mind, it would be small.  Just a hobby, not a living.  But no matter how small your farm is, it’s still a farm.  Mine is too small for a tractor but has work that needs a tractor.  So I do a lot of hauling with a wheelbarrow.  And last year had to hire someone with a tractor to move Mt. Manure and dump it on the pasture.  I could no longer scale Mt. Manure with my wheelbarrow.

Ideally, I should have gotten a slightly bigger property and a tractor.  And maybe had neighbors further away.  They built a big fence to not look at my horses.  So there are days when I think about moving to a condo and having one houseplant.  Or an RV and having no houseplants, but migrating around seeing new vegetation and antelope or other wild things.  Things that I don’t have to clean up after.

But I know I’d miss the view, the birds and the peace of mornings on the farm.  And what would I do with Katie?  Get an extra bedroom in the condo for her?

5 Responses to “Ownership a.k.a. So You Want a Farm?”

  1. Marietta June 27, 2013 at 10:20 am #

    You can have a trailer on the RV and take Katie on tour like Misty of Chincoteague. Katie already has a trick platform, so you’re ready to go! 🙂

    Actually, Katie would then miss her other pony friends, so I guess you’re stuck on your beautiful farm.

    • A New Path June 27, 2013 at 10:52 am #

      Great idea. I could get Katie a trailer. She does look a lot like Misty of Chincoteague and does tricks, too. But she would be lonely. And I do have all these other animals!

  2. The Dancing Rider June 27, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

    I see that – it is what it is. Katie needs you. But I hear you, the cleaning up, and the responsibility…… I also hear the love of your farm in your writing.

    • A New Path June 27, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

      Thank you! The farm is wonderful in so many ways. I go back and forth about loving it and being overwhelmed. I think all creative types get overwhelmed with “stuff” sometimes and need to have some quiet nature time to recharge.

      • The Dancing Rider June 28, 2013 at 5:50 am #

        It happens more as you get older, too, I think. At least for us it does. We don’t even have a farm, and our place gets overwhelming at certain times of the year.

        I’m with you. I agree that creative types really need that down time, preferably in nature. We have a lovely yard, and my work there is often like meditation.

What do you think?

