The Last Blast of Summer

18 Aug

More Katie Pics

With the strange phenomenon called summer continuing, I haven’t been writing very much.  We haven’t seen much sun in recent years, so instead of being hunched up over a caffeinated beverage squinting in the gray gloom of the Pacific Northwest, I have been outdoors enjoying the sun.

And Katie, like Pigpen, emits a cloud of dust when she walks. Everything is dry.  It’s not quite dry enough to stop the grass from growing though. It’s green and dry. So we still have to mow.

The mornings are getting cold and fall is creeping up with the promise of chill and rain.  One day the sunshine will be over and the days will be viewed through windshield wipers and the hoods of raincoats.  It will be dark before 4 pm and not much brighter at noon.

Katie has one more show to humiliate me at this year.  It will be on Labor Day if we decide to go.  It depends on how much ego I need to burn if I will go.  People always think Katie looks cute as she humiliates me.

This show will involve jumping, so she will either fly over the jumps perfectly like she does at home or pretend to never have seen a jump in her life, stomp on my feet and knock over the ones she doesn’t refuse.  She might fly over one just to show she could do it if she wanted to.

We might also try Liberty class again.  In that class, I chase her around with a plastic bag on a stick while she spazzes out to Disco Inferno (her music).  Then I attempt to catch her when the music stops.  If she is really pissed off about being chased around with the plastic bag, she might not let me catch her.  Then we’d be disqualified.  Or she could want me to catch her and we’d get clapping and a ribbon.  Hopefully not a black ribbon, though.  She got a black ribbon for fourth place at the last show.  I put that one in the garage behind some stuff.

Katie makes sure I don’t get big ideas about winning fantastic prizes and world championships.   Every now and then she decides to be on my side and we end up with a good placing.  But I never expect one, because Katie’s not the kind of horse who aspires to worldly success.    World domination, maybe, but not worldly success.

7 Responses to “The Last Blast of Summer”

  1. PigLove August 19, 2013 at 6:15 am #

    Katie, you are the most beautiful horsey I have ever met – love in my eyes! I mean it from the bottom of my little piggy heart. I’m glad you are enjoying the weather. Here in the south, it’s been raining every day. I don’t care much for it. I’d rather be outside running with you 🙂 XOXO – Bacon

    • A New Path August 19, 2013 at 9:52 am #

      Thank you, Bacon. You are an adorable pig. I hope you get some sunshine soon!

  2. Kevin August 19, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    Good luck on that show!

  3. The Dancing Rider August 19, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

    First, Katie, I just love you. That’s a great picture of you.

    Glad you guys are having a summer to enjoy. It’s quite humid and hot here today, and after my ride and then a shower, I’m happy to be sitting at the computer for a moment. I was very pleased to find this entry awaiting.

    Ha, ha, hah. World domination. That sounds like Katie – she’s defintely her own horse.

    Do the show. Perhaps each of us can be humiliated in turn. You at Labor Day, by Katie, and me in early October. If I got a black ribbon, which I’d probably heartily deserve, I throw it out. That’s like having the Grim Reaper give you a ribbon! Ugh!

    I love how Katie controls any aspirations to big prizes! Still, I bet you have fun in the show!

    • A New Path August 19, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

      thanks, DR. I hope you do not get the dreaded Black Ribbon of Doom. Someone needs to chat with the ribbon committee about better colors. The fourth used to be white until someone had a brilliant idea to make it black. I think it should be purple so it can mistaken for a Grand Champion from far away. Good luck at your show! I will probably go the this one just for fun and to see all the other minis.

      • The Dancing Rider August 19, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

        Oh, how this made me laugh. LOVE the purple idea……:) Good luck to you and Katie as well. Will just be for fun for me, too. 😉

What do you think?

