Katie Understands The Importance of Eating Breakfast (and Lunch, and Dinner)

11 Sep

DSC07710

Katie understands the unique challenges of being a miniature horse or pony.

Dear Katie, I am a 10 hand Shetland pony.  I am struggling to understand why I can’t eat continuously 24 hours a day.  I can’t think of a single good reason.  I have finished my flake of hay and now have another 5 hours until lunch.  How will I survive?  Signed, Breakfast of Champions

Dear Breakfast, you have asked an age-old question.  People think ponies and miniatures should eat 3 skimpy meals a day when we should be just left alone with a bale of hay and given another one when we have eaten that, which will be in about 2 hours.  Better yet, we should be fed 4 bales of hay a day.  One for each meal and a snack.   – Katie

8 Responses to “Katie Understands The Importance of Eating Breakfast (and Lunch, and Dinner)”

  1. The Dancing Rider September 12, 2013 at 5:48 am #

    Certainly you tinier ones are no different than the big ones! Perhaps if you can get 4 bales every day, you can be big, too. 😉 In any case, Katie, you should *definitely* keep trying to get the extra! 🙂

    • A New Path September 12, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

      Thank you for understanding! 🙂 I am working on getting bigger.- Katie

  2. PigLove September 12, 2013 at 6:59 am #

    Katie you are so wise and beautiful!! I love your braided hair. I asked mommy could I have a braid too. She braided my tail – snorts. I don’t think it’s the same. XOXO – Bacon

    • A New Path September 12, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

      thank you, Bacon. I hope your tail recovers!

  3. tbnranch September 15, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    Sounds to me like you should be counting your blessings! Around here the pony gets 1/2 flake only twice a day.

    • A New Path September 16, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

      Your pony is probably height -weight proportional.

      • tbnranch September 17, 2013 at 8:43 am #

        Well… not exactly. lol

      • A New Path September 18, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

        haha!

What do you think?

