A Blog for Each Personality

21 Sep

DSC07977

When writing a blog, conventional wisdom says to be consistent, keep on topic and start a new blog for every one of your multiple personalities.

If you have very prolific personalities, that works great.  But if you have some personalities that only crank one post a year, then you’ll just have blog drift.  That’s where your blogs drift off into nowhere and you have to go find the blog next you want to post because you have no idea where it went.

Originally blogs were not so specialized.  The goal wasn’t to conquer the universe.  Now, whoever has the most readers wins.   It was once about writing.

Everyone is busy and the information age has become information overload.  I admire the bloggers that keep on writing for the sake of writing.  Like a zen monk sitting on a rock, they just are.  Whatever they are is fine.  And it shines through.

In blogs you will find original, unedited voices. I enjoy the blogs where all the personalities get to play in one blog.  Who needs a separate blog for every topic?  I like diversity.  If you’re looking for the most readers, maybe.  What is your goal?  To write or accumulate?

7 Responses to “A Blog for Each Personality”

  1. The Dancing Rider September 21, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    To write. Sometimes about things that seem to have no connection to what I “do”. I started with riding, then added dance, then various musings on topics……. Then I tried to specifically denote riding and ballet entries. That didn’t work. It has to be all in one glob for me!

    I LOVE this picture of Katie! 🙂

    • A New Path September 21, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

      Thanks, Dancingrider! I really enjoy your blog. I wonder if the trend of the future will be the integrated blog? Our Western culture likes to take things apart and study the pieces. What’s missing is a wholistic approach.

      • The Dancing Rider September 21, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

        Well, it’s the only way I can write mine. And it seems to be the way you write yours. I think more of the author’s personality comes through with the wholistic approach! Maybe it will be a trend. I enjoy your blog so much!

  2. Rodney's Saga September 22, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

    I have two. Different topics and totally different writing approaches. I think it works for me b/c then it stays organized in my head. Scalzi’s *Whatever* is an outstanding example of integrated blog, from political commentary to pictures of his breakfast.

    • A New Path September 23, 2013 at 9:52 am #

      I think they key to multiple blogs is being prolific. I think at another time in my life (less busy) I would do better at staying organized and giving blogging more attention. Now it’s a way to keep myself writing something…anything…as a placeholder in my writing life. And it makes me feel better about keeping a pony whom I love (but can be a pain) and has no job in the real world.

      • pigeon1970 September 26, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

        Her job is to give you these moments of delight. Even if she can be a pain. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Off Topic: Yay or Nay? | Rodney's Saga - February 5, 2014

    […] existence of multiple blogs was addressed in The Katie Chronicles: A Blog for Each Personality. My answer there was: I have two. Different topics and totally different writing approaches. I […]

What do you think?

