Horse Drama, Part 2

30 Oct

DSC01741

I am trying to figure out if horse drama is a West Coast thing, or if there is also cow drama.  Or maybe I attract drama.  But I never attracted any sort of drama at all until I got back into horses, so I can only assume that horses bring out the crazies in people.

Maybe if I were wealthy and at a big boarding barn there would be no drama.  Maybe it’s that I am in a low- budget price range and get what I pay for.

Or it’s possible that more money buys more drama.  I wouldn’t know, since I don’t have more money to find out.

I think the crazy people selling horses and lessons don’t realize they’re crazy.  Being an introspective person, I immediately question if I am the crazy one and see all my flaws, imperfections and inconsistencies.   I see the times I inadvertently hurt someone or failed to be the person I wished I could be and acted badly.  The times I took the easy way out rather than confronting someone.

As a last resort, I ask someone if I am crazy.  Then I bring up the name of the person I suspect is crazy.  Most of the time (well, all of the time) I get a response that says something like “I should have warned you about her.”

So, from now on every time I encounter a new horse person, it seems I must check their references and check if they are crazy.  Why is it like that in the horse world?   A horse is an animal, a pet, a companion, a working partner– but also  seems to be a power trip and an ego boost for some people, or a crutch used to prop up a fragile sense of self.

Or maybe I’m reading too much into it.   Maybe it’s so simple that horses just attract some crazy people.  And some great people, too.

9 Responses to “Horse Drama, Part 2”

  1. The Dancing Rider October 30, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    Yes, it’s the very last paragraph! 🙂 But I sure did enjoy everything that went before!

  2. Carol Weinstock October 30, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    I don’t know much, but I know you are the first true horse person I have known that I didn’t think was nuts.
    😉

  3. neilirving October 31, 2013 at 8:56 am #

    I think the problem stems from the horses or more peoples lack of understanding about horses,after humanity’s log association with horses they really don’t need us and unlike dogs don’t really want to be with us they want to be with other horses, there are lots of old ways of working with horses and as soon as you think outside of the box or like a horse the nutter’s come out to play, I had problems last year with someone who ranted and raved because I’m left handed and I get on the right side of a horse instead of the left, when we did join up in a field instead of a round pen lol all hell broke loose, but we made a fantastic horse out of a wild untamed beast that no one wanted or could catch, Just enjoy the time with your horse and ignore the drama

    • A New Path November 1, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

      Thanks, neilirving. I appreciate you stopping by and commenting. Congrats on making a great horse out of a wild, untamed one. It is nice to just appreciate your horse and nature.

      • neilirving November 2, 2013 at 4:58 am #

        Thanks Kelly was a great horse to work with and we learned so much about horses and ourselves, that’s the most important thing about horses they teach you

  4. thecraftycultivator November 3, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

    Horse people as a rule are crazy. Its just the special level of crazy that some exhibit that makes the rest of us seem a little more sane. There are so many unscrupulous horse people out there, and it makes it seem like the whole industry is evil. But just hold onto the love that got you into horses in the first place, and never forget that there are other people out there who care about the horses just as much as you. You just have to search a little harder for them.
    And Thanks again for all of your lovely comments on my blog.

    • A New Path November 11, 2013 at 9:25 am #

      Thank you, craftycultivator. I really appreciate your kind words. After writing this, I encountered the best in horse people– when my truck broke down, a horse friend gave our horse a ride to the show. I am thankful for the good horse people out there who care. When buying, selling or leasing- or anything involving money and horses, it seems the level of crazy ramps up ten notches.

What do you think?

