Katie’s Social Standing takes a Plunge: aka New Horse Arrives

1 Dec

photo

Katie once again finds herself at the bottom of the pecking order.  Even though she is fiercely dedicated to raising her social standing, her efforts are futile against an even more dominant miniature horse.  The few times she did move herself up in the social strata, it wasn’t pretty.  Katie does not handle power well.  Think Mussolini in a miniature horse body.  Life is much better if she is not in charge.

photo

The new horse has arrived– a little bay mini driving gelding who thinks he is 17 hands tall.  He needs a few reminders of who is in charge, but is sweet and easy to handle.  I figure if we want to ride, we can ride someone else’s big horses.  That way, if the horse goes lame I won’t be stuck with another large pasture pet.  The worst is that I can be stuck with a small one.  And we can drive and show and enjoy all the good horse stuff in a small package with smaller expense and a smaller workload.

I like having my own horse vs. school horses but am not up for the risk and expense of owning another large horse.  So we can ride school horses (when we get around to it) and train and drive the minis at home.

The new horse is actually my kid’s – to clarify.   She was getting suspicious of me discussing her new horse like he was mine!   But I am going to borrow him sometimes. 

5 Responses to “Katie’s Social Standing takes a Plunge: aka New Horse Arrives”

  1. Pup the Rabbit December 1, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    So adorable<33

  2. The Dancing Rider December 2, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

    Oh he is really something. I love him! I wish I could groom him! He is the sweetest thing ever. I love how he thinks he a big horse! 🙂 And very wise to use the school horses. Best of all worlds! Congrats, and hope that Katie accepts him.

    • A New Path December 2, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

      Thanks, Dancing Rider! He is a cutie with a big personality. I turned him out with Katie and and she ran over to bite him and he gave her a couple of swift kicks and she decided to leave him alone. They seem to have worked it out. For now!

      • The Dancing Rider December 3, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

        Oh my. I can just see Katie doing that, too. 🙂 Hope it does work out though. He is really, really sweet looking.

What do you think?

