The Beauty of Winter

12 Dec

 

DSC07607

Winter offers some amazing sights in the Northwest.   At sunrise this morning, clouds in all shades of pink drifted across a vast cerulean sky.  The blue and pink faded quickly, like all beautiful things, making it an even more treasured event.

I headed to town along the back roads. The sunrise now had turned the Olympic mountains to the west a glowing pink.  Every crag and snowy edge was crisp against the sky.  White swans flew low in the space between me and the sea.  Then the traffic light changed and I had to turn into town, away from the beauty.

The chilly gloom of the northwest can wear a person down, but this is truly one of the most beautiful places on earth.   I still can’t believe it when I sit at stoplight watching the migrating snow geese and swans against a backdrop of green farmland and distant mountains.  That sure beats what I used to see at stoplights down in Seattle.  A rare break in the clouds helps us remember how beautiful this place really is.

6 Responses to “The Beauty of Winter”

  1. The Dancing Rider December 12, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    Your appreciation, and gratefulness, come through. Beautiful entry! 🙂

    • A New Path December 12, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

      Thank you, DR! I tried to look on the bright side.

  2. tandemtrekking December 12, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

    Where do you live?? I think everyone in the PNW saw that sunrise this morning. Stunning.

    • A New Path December 12, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

      I live in Washington. It was a beautiful sunrise. I saw pics on King 5 of some beautiful sunrises around the state!

      • tandemtrekking December 12, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

        I just posted the sunrise we saw this morning from Olympia!

      • A New Path December 12, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

        oh my gosh, that is gorgeous! I love your blog!

What do you think?

