How (Not) to Start a Blog

20 Dec

When I started a blog, I had no plan.  I had woken up with the brilliant idea that I wanted to blog.  I went to WordPress and typed in a blog address.  It was rejected.  I typed in about 25 more and they were all taken.  With a deep sigh, I looked out my window, and my eyes settled on this:

photo

So with absolutely no foresight (which is my modus operendi),  I typed in my horse’s name.  Voila!  A user name not taken!  Absolutely no one wants to call their blog Macho Mojave!   I have won!

So I began typing about the weather.  Soon I realized that the weather was good for about two posts.

I went out and fed the horses.  I looked at my shaggy yak-like miniature horse Katie who had ruined her chances of being a cart horse by flipping my cart and leaving it with a bent shaft that haunts it to this day.  Katie made her usual cute face at me.

I went back inside and started typing.  The next thing I knew, Katie was giving advice.  So it became her blog.  With a Macho name.  I should start a new blog with a nice name.  But that would require planning.

10 Responses to “How (Not) to Start a Blog”

  1. Sparrowgrass December 20, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    I like blogs that grow organically. The best posts are those that surprise even their authors, so I think your blog began most auspiciously.

  2. aspireequestrian December 20, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

    I agree with Sparrowgrass 🙂 and I do think Macho Mojave is a rather great name for a blog 🙂

  3. Carol Weinstock December 20, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

    cute

  4. theepdinker December 20, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

    All hail the Mighty Macho Mojave!

    • A New Path December 20, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

      He is a champion driving horse!

  5. The Dancing Rider December 21, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    Great evolution, cool name, and a really, really wonderful blog. I love it here. Katie, et. al., are very special — as is their (and your) advice and insights.

    • A New Path December 21, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

      Thank you, Dancing Rider. That means a lot. I love your blog and your wonderful perspective on life. Thank you from me and Katie!

What do you think?

