Autocorrect Nightmare: Curse of the Smartphone

23 Jan

Yesterday I was texting our trainer on my new (refurbished cheap) smartphone, proud that I had entered the 21st century.

photo

After two successful sentences, complete with punctuation, I got too cocky.  I had finally learned to hit the space bar instead of “send” after each word.  Or so I thought.

As I was typing “Duke didn’t bite” (he has a slight biting problem), autocorrect turned “Duke didn’t” into “Duke DIED” and I hit send instead of space.

In a panic of bad typing I attempted to text an explanation that Duke did not die.

I hope I didn’t give her a heart attack!   I am going to turn autocorrect off today after I have the courage to face my dastardly phone again.

7 Responses to “Autocorrect Nightmare: Curse of the Smartphone”

  1. BrantleyNewton January 23, 2014 at 8:13 am #

    There are entire websites devoted to such problems. The most bizarre are the ones in which it changes a word that does exist to one that doesn’t!

  2. Kevin January 23, 2014 at 11:41 am #

    Jeez, that is pretty bad. I keep telling people “I love you so much” because my phone’s auto correct defaults to that. Every time I type in something like “I love ice cream” it turns into “I I love you so much ice cream”. It’s like I stutter when I’m texting. A little bad when I text my wife’s friends for other things and that comes out. Instead of “I’d love to have you to come over” it appears as “I’d I love you so much!” They are being to think I’m just a little too friendly!! LOL.

    • A New Path January 23, 2014 at 1:16 pm #

      LOL autocorrect has a mind of its own. I just turned it off but now who knows what jumbled words I’ll end up typing on that tiny keyboard.

  3. neilirving January 24, 2014 at 12:27 am #

    Lol mine adds a x to the end of every message, everyone thinks I’m a very friendly guy x

  4. pigeon1970 January 4, 2015 at 10:35 pm #

    I haven’t seen these posts for some reason, Monica, but I could totally see this. I have discovered that autocorrect is great, until it isn’t and embarrasses me.

What do you think?

