Adventures in Horse Shopping

18 Sep

DSC06485

The only one happy about today is Katie.  That’s because no new horse is coming to reside in her extra stall, which she currently uses as her extra bathroom.  Just because she’s a mini doesn’t mean one bathroom is enough.  That’s because Katie uses all stalls as a bathroom and sleeps out in the dirt of her paddock.

I finally became brave enough to go horse shopping again.  I had a detailed conversation with the owner of a  “4-H and trail” horse on the phone, and the horse nearly glowed with perfection as the owner described him.  He was beautiful.  He was a trail horse but collected in the arena with a Western jog and rocking-horse lope.  You could let him sit six months and climb right on!  Ride him with no tack and he behaved perfectly!  He was not herdbound in the least and he was kid-safe.  He was a paint horse.

I arrived to see what looked like a Tennessee Walker.  No, he was a paint, she said.  He had some marking on his face.  He looked a little squirrely and took off when she tried to catch him.  She tied him up and he gave us that cranky look camp horses give humans.  She crammed a tom thumb bit in his mouth and saddled him.  Her son walked over wearing flip flops.  She had him climb on the horse barefoot with no helmet and trot the horse.  He hung onto the saddle horn as the horse executed a speedy gait resembling a jackhammer.

Meanwhile a foal was wandering around.  A weanling.  She was running back and forth and all around us, whinnying.  She was making me nervous because I was reading the big horse’s body language and he was getting worried about the foal.  Not to mention that I didn’t want to get kicked.  The owner finally locked the foal up.  My daughter got on the jackhammer horse.

She asked him to walk and he humped up wild eyed and gave a buck.  She dismounted quickly and the owner said, “I guess he is a little bit herdbound.”

Bye.

I don’t know why I keep horse shopping.  I guess it’s because I want a horse.  But really, there must be a better way.  Like cloning. Or ordering a horse on ebay.

5 Responses to “Adventures in Horse Shopping”

  1. The Dancing Rider September 19, 2013 at 6:31 am #

    “That’s because Katie uses all stalls as a bathroom and sleeps out in the dirt of her paddock.” : Oh my, Katie! It figures!

    Wow. Kind of like how some people describe their houses when selling, too. :/ I hope you are able to find a decent mount. This one defintely did not sound good. Or at all like its description.

    The jackhammer description was hysterical!

    • A New Path September 20, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

      thanks 🙂 I am glad you liked it. And thanks for the good wishes. One of these days I hope we find a suitable horse. It’s worse than buying a used car.

      • The Dancing Rider September 21, 2013 at 5:49 am #

        LOL! Yes, because a horse has a bit more of a brain and personality! 🙂 I do hope you guys find one though. I know you will!

  2. Rodney's Saga September 19, 2013 at 9:50 am #

    Digital sympathy & virtual hugs for your horse hunt. I often have cause to wonder, Do these people not know? Are they trying to fool me? To fool themselves?

    • A New Path September 20, 2013 at 8:21 pm #

      Thank you! I guess that is the age old question. Why? Do people think no one will notice that the horse is not broke etc. etc.?

What do you think?

